NFL News: Members of Hall-of-Fame Class Of 2017 Named

By Miguel Torres, Posted: 01/06/17 12:32AM EST

The finalists for the NFL's Hall-of-Fame Class of 2017 have been named, which include players, league officials, and team owners.

As reported by, three first-year eligibles have been named as part of the Pro Football Hall-of-Fame's 15 modern-era finalists. Among them are former running back LaDainian Tomlinson, retired safety Brian Dawkins, and former defensive end and linebacker Jason Taylor.

Tomlinson, a fifth overall pick during the 2001 Draft, played a total of 11 seasons in the NFL for two teams: the San Diego Chargers, from his rookie year until 2009, and the New York Jets for the 2011-2012 season. Along the way, he made a total of five Pro Bowl appearances, and was voted the league MVP in 2006. He made his retirement announcement in 2012, right after signing a ceremonial contract with the Chargers.

Taylor played a total of 15 seasons in the league, starting as a rookie in 1997. The 73rd overall pick played for three teams during the course of his carer, namely the Miami Dolphins, the New York Jets, and the Washington Redskins. He also made six Pro Bowl appearances and was named the NFL's sacks leader for 2002.

Dawkins, meanwhile, had a 13-year stint in the NFL, playing for the Philadelphia Eagles from 1996-2008, and the Denver Broncos from 2009-2011. Through the course of his career, he made a total of nine Pro Bowl appearances, and was part of the NFL 2000s All-Decade Team. He retired in April 2012, after signing a one-day contract with Philadelphia, with the intent of retiring as part of the Eagles roster.

Rightfully, the 43-year-old former player was ecstatic about his inclusion on the final shortlist. Dawkins expressed his sentiments via Twitter, through a short and simple post.

"Blessed By The Best!!" Dawkins wrote.

The final list of inductees will be released on February 4, a day prior to the 2017 Super Bowl in Houston. The induction ceremony will then take place on August 5, in Canton, Ohio. Sadly, the Vince Lombardi trophy eluded all three of these legends.

© 2017 iSports Times All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.


New England Patriots Trading Jimmy Garoppolo to Cleveland Browns After RG3 Injury?

Jimmy Garoppolo performed well for the New England Patriots in Week 1, but his time as a starter mig... more

Denver Broncos WR Demaryius Thomas Returning Against Indianapolis Colts

The Denver Broncos may be getting a big shot in the arm if reports are true that wide receiver Demar... more

NFL Rumors: Cleveland Browns Signing Geno Smith To Replace Robert Griffin III

The Cleveland Browns find themselves in a very precarious position following the untimely injury to ... more

MLB Trade Rumors: Ryan Braun To LA Dodgers for Yasiel Puig

Imminent Blockbuster Trade seems to be a done deal for Dodgers' Yasiel Puig and Brewers' Ryan Braun more

MLB Standings & Playoff Race: Why the Chicago Cubs Should Fear the LA Dodgers

The return of Dodgers' pitcher Clayton Kershaw should put a scare on the Chicago Cubs' magical seaso... more

Cleveland Cavaliers Get DeMarcus Cousins For Kevin Love, Is It A Fair Deal?

The Cleveland Cavaliers don’t need much to improve for the coming season meaning Kevin Love trade ru... more

Miami Heat Should Trade Chris Bosh, Build Around Hassan Whiteside

The likelihood of Miami Heat big man Chris Bosh of leaving the team is getting bigger, as possible t... more

WWE No Mercy 2016 Latest News: AJ Styles vs. John Cena Revived, Dean Ambrose the Odd Man Out?

AJ Styles will put the WWE heavyweight title on the line at No Mercy in a Triple Threat match which ... more

Real Time Analytics