Home > soccer

Steven Gerrard Wins England Player Of The Year Award Again

Posted: 02/04/13 04:23AM EST

England and Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has been named the England "Player of the Year" for the second time.

Gerrard, who scored for Liverpool during their Premier league match against Manchester City on Sunday, was presented with the award by legendary England footballer Sir Bobby Charlton at a ceremony in Burton.

Manchester United striker Danny Welbeck finished second while Chelsea defender Ashley Cole, who earned a lucrative contract extension at Chelsea during the January transfer window, finished third.

As many as 180,000 fans voted during the poll conducted by English Football Association on their website

Arsenal's Stephanie Houghton won the women's award. The men's under-21 Player of the Year award went to Gerrard's Liverpool team-mate Jordan Henderson.
"It means a lot to me when you look at the quality and standard of players in this squad. For me to be picked out to win an individual award is a bonus and something I'm really delighted with," Gerrard was quoted as saying by BBC.

"It's always a proud feeling to play for this team and the manager believing in me and giving me the captaincy was a huge lift for my personal confidence."

"I think I've shown a level of consistency that maybe I haven't shown in previous years, so it's been a good year."
The Liverpool midfielder, who also won the award in 2007, told "I think it's always special when you get recognised by supporters who see you in your job."
"And then you've got to look at the other players that you're playing with in this England team, so it's special to get this award. The dream was always just to get close to this set-up, so to be in the 100 Club is something special.
"I decided after the summer to stay involved because of the standard of players that we have. So hopefully we can have success in the next two years."

Later, according to, Gerrard brought the national football centre's Ball Room to its feet by announcing that The FA's Community Shield donation to the Bobby Moore Fund for Cancer Research UK would be matched by the Three Lions squad.

Chelsea playmaker Frank Lampard and Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney are the other two players who have won the award twice.


© 2016 iSports Times All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.


Atlanta Hawks Might Field One of the Oldest Starting Lineups This Season

The Atlanta Hawks might field one of the oldest starting lineups when the new NBA season starts this... more

Know More About The Next Ronda Rousey, Will Kayla Harrisson Start MMA Career Soon?

Olympic Judoka Kayla Harrison is looking to venture into the next phase of her combat sports career. more

WWE Rumors: Seth Rollins A Threat To A Wrestler's Career? Bret Hart Blasts 'Crossfit Jesus'

WWE legend Bret Hart is not exaclty not fond of Seth Rollins, calling him reckless. This was apparen... more

Latest On Trade Talks Involving Chicago Bulls Guard Jimmy Butler, LA Clippers Forward Blake Griffin

NBA standouts Jimmy Butler and Blake Griffin have been on the trade rumor mill for quite a while now... more

Canelo Alvarez vs Gennady Golovkin Blockbuster Fight Will Happen, Says Oscar De La Hoya

Boxing fans are still waiting for positive news on the proposed showdown between Saul "Canelo" Alvar... more

Cleveland Cavaliers Get DeMarcus Cousins For Kevin Love, Will The Trade Happen?

The Cleveland Cavaliers are continuously being linked to a possible trade for DeMarcus Cousins, wher... more

KickassTorrents Still Down, Here Are The Best Alternatives

There are a few other torrents sites are coming getting more and more traffic as KickassTorrents rem... more

Goodbye The Pirate Bay? Cloudflare Under Fire For Helping TPB, Terror Groups

CloudFlare faces lawsuit from ALS Scan. more

Real Time Analytics