Home > college

The 2013 College Football Preview and Bold Predictions

By Gregory Watley, Posted: 08/27/13 02:40PM EDT
Jadeveon Clowney
Courtesy: Jadeveon Clowney South Carolina DE(Photo :

College Football season kicks off August 29, and there is a lot of enthusiasm and anticipation of another great season. Alabama, Stanford, and Ohio State top the list of this year's football watchlist but, as Lee Corso would say, not so fast my friends.

There are a few things that are for certain this year, Alabama will not win the National championship; Johnny Manziel will not repeat at Heisman trophy winner; neither will Ohio State Junior QB Braxton Miller win the Heisman as so many have predicted.

Big Ten

Despite coming off a perfect 12-0 season last year, the Buckeyes were unable to play for the Big Ten title because of NCAA sanctions. Heisman hopeful QB Braxton Miller posted an Ohio State record passing for 3,310 total yards. Miller has been working hard this year to become a much better all-around QB-expect an encore from last year's performance and he will lead the Buckeyes to the National championship game despite the fact that Ohio State has to replace most of its front seven from last year.

Big East

After last season wins in both the Big East title game and the Sugar Bowl, expect Louisville to once again emerge as Conference champs and play in another BCS Bowl game. The Cardinals are returning 19 starters including Heisman candidate QB Teddy Bridgewater.

PAC 12

Despite loosing former Head coach Chip Kelly to the NFL, Oregon which finished 12-1 last year will be a top contender to play for the National Championship. Oregon promoted offensive coordinator Mark Helfrich to Head coach. Helfrich will implement much of Kelly's hurry up offense. The Ducks will be relying a lot on QB Marcus Mariota and running backs De'Anthony to carry the offense. Expect the Ducks to challenge last year's PAC 12 Champions Stanford, win the PAC 12 title, and play for the National Championship.

Southeastern Conference (SEC)

The Southeastern Conference has won seven consecutive BCS Championships with powerhouse Alabama winning the last two National titles. However, despite having the most future NFL prospects in the country, neither Alabama nor the SEC will win the National Championship title this year.

Texas A&M, last year's newcomers to the SEC had an incredible season which translated into a lot of success; first, by upsetting Alabama 29-24, and then routing Oklahoma 41-13 in the Cotton Bowl to finish with a record of 11-2. However, this year, A&M will be mediocre at best, finishing in the middle of the pack in the SEC; and the reigning Heisman trophy winner Johnny Manziel will not finish in the top three Heisman finalist voting.

When all is said and done, South Carolina's All-American defensive end Jadeveon Clowney will win the Heisman trophy. Oregon will play Ohio State for the National Championship and the Ducks emerging as this year's NCAA Champions.

Follow me on Twitter: @Bigballashotta

© 2016 iSports Times All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.


Nadal Falls In Marathon U.S. Open Match To Fognini

Rafa Nadal ended a sub-par grand slam season on a heartbreaking note when he fell 3-6 4-6 6-4 6-3 6-... more

Federer Faces Danger Match Against Big-Serving Isner

Swiss second seed Roger Federer faces a danger match against big-hitting American John Isner in four... more

Federer Express Aims To Keep Rolling At U.S. Open

The Roger Federer express will look to gather further pace in the third round of the U.S. Open on Sa... more

Australian Hayne Living The American Dream

Jarryd Hayne thanked God in his first tweet after learning that he had made the final roster for the... more

Brady To Suit Up After 'Deflategate' Win; NFL Appeals

Star quarterback Tom Brady will play in the New England Patriots' season opener next week after a fe... more

Tom Brady Says He's Sorry NFL Had To 'Endure' Deflategate Scandal

Star quarterback Tom Brady made his first public comments on Friday since a federal judge threw out ... more

Nadal Falls In Marathon U.S. Open Match To Fognini

Rafa Nadal ended a sub-par grand slam season on a heartbreaking note when he fell 3-6 4-6 6-4 6-3 6-... more

Williams, Cilic Survive Scares But No Escape For Nadal

Serena Williams and Marin Cilic both survived third round scares on Friday to keep their U.S. Open t... more